first_imgLocalNews Roseau residents vote for new council by: – November 18, 2013 Share Sharing is caring! 13 Views   no discussions Some of the voters at Monday’s electionResidents from the municipality of Roseau are today voting for a new council to manage the affairs of the City of Roseau. Polls opened in four wards from 7 o’clock on Monday, November 18 and will remain opened until 5pm. There are 15 candidates contesting the election which has been described as a highly competitive one.Anwar Cadette, Georgette Deravariere, Lindsay N George, Vanessa Prevost, Cleve Lafond, Samantha Nicholas, Kelda Kimara Hurtault, Corinthia Blanc, Albert Dalrymple, Reah Brumant, Veronica Juliana Frederick, Erickson Romain, Irene John, Daniel Lugay, and Regina Walsh are the candidates.Michael Anthony Moreau, who was earlier nominated, withdrew his candidacy to contest the election. Outgoing City Mayor Cecil Joseph, who has held that position for the last 12 years, is not seeking re-election. Residents have the opportunity to vote for any two candidates of their choice today. At the end of the day, eight top candidates will form the Council along with five government nominees.The Minister of Community Development, Gloria Shillingford has the power according to the laws of local government, to accept or reject or include five persons to serve on the council. The councilors will then meet to elect a chairman who will become the mayor. Votes are to be counted at the respective polling stations when the polls close at 5p.m on today. The final and official count will take place at the Electoral Office commencing on November 19, 2013.Dominica Vibes Newscenter_img Share Share Tweetlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *